Home of the Year – Ireland

Time Schedule

Mon 11:30 | Tue 15:30 | Thu 19:30 | Fri 22:00  | Sat 17:00 & 00:00 | Sun 12:30 & 21:00


What makes a House a Home?

Championing individuality, flair and commitment to design, Home of the Year features homeowners around Ireland who have done something extraordinary to the place they call home.

Over 8 weeks, 21 homes will compete for the Home of the Year title, with three very different and unique properties featured each week.

From unusual conversions to architectural gems and countryside retreats, Home of the Year features people who have built their dream home, just the way they want it. The series will showcase homes from all across Ireland including a converted workshop, a modernist inspired new build, a barn turned dream home and a radically transformed Dublin terrace.

Making the tough decisions on which homes go through to the final at the end of the series are our three expert judges; Design legend Hugh Wallace, acclaimed architect Declan O’Donnell and award winning interior designer Deirdre Whelan.

Looking for individuality, functionality and clever design, the judges will individually score each homes out of 10, the home with the highest combined score, goes through to the final where the ultimate winner will be crowned.

19 – 25 March: Episode 6

In the 6th programme of the series, the judges visit a contemporary architectural home in County Antrim, a cottage in County Galway and a colourful suburban home brimming with personality in South Dublin.

Episode 7

This week the judges see two Dublin based homes and one in County Wicklow. With a petite terraced cottage crammed with creativity to a timber house and beautifully restored period home in Dublin, the judges have their work cut out for them in the final heat of Home of the Year.

Episode 8 – The Final

Having selected the seven finalists, the judges must now select the overall winner. The homeowners come together for the very first time in Balyna House in County Kildare, where the judges will deliberate and ultimately crown the winner of Home of the Year.